Defense of DUI Charges
If you were arrested and charged with driving under the influence, a conviction can result in harsh penalties. Incarceration, fines, license suspension, alcohol treatments, increased insurance rates and the vehicle impoundment are all possible penalties. The experience and skill of a proven DUI defense attorney may help you to reduce the charges or lead to an acquittal at trial. An experienced lawyer knows that the results of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and breath tests can be challenged in court.
It is not uncommon for testing errors and existing medical conditions to cause a breath or blood test to give a false reading. When given the option of submitting to a breath test or a blood test, it is largely accepted that a blood test is more accurate. There are several steps in the administration of a blood test in which errors can occur including collection of the sample, maintenance of sterile equipment, preservation of the sample, and during the analysis of the sample. Additionally, there are many factors involving a breath test that can lead to the possibility of a false reading. Failure to follow the proper procedure in administering a blood or breath test, can be grounds for dismissal of all charges.
Most people do not know that it is not illegal in the state of Florida to drink and drive. It is illegal however to drive while your normal faculties are impaired by the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you have recently been charged with an offense such as DUI in Tampa or in surrounding areas in Hillsborough County, you need to immediately call Mitcham Law Firm. When working with a lawyer at our firm, you can be informed on your rights, the Florida DUI statutes regarding the offense and the penalties of a drunk driving charge.
We will be able to defend the suspension of your driver’s license at your DMV, or DHSMV Hearing, as it is called in Florida. After, we will be able to thoroughly investigate your case for the criminal aspect of the offense. We will need to review and challenge any field sobriety tests or blood tests revealing your blood alcohol content at the time of the arrest.
We will meticulously investigate your case and consider all possible defenses and arguments that can be made to effectively defend you at this difficult time. However, you must act fast because unless we file an objection with the Department of Motor Vehicles on your behalf within 10 days of your arrest, your licensecan be suspended for a period of 6 months-one (1) year for a first offense.